Last item for navigation
Eighty-Three RCPS Students Named AP Scholars
Posted on 08/19/2022
Conyers, Ga. – Rockdale County Public Schools (RCPS) honors the 83 students recently named 2022 Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars – including two AP Capstone Diploma recipients – for their outstanding performance on the 2021-2022 exams. This represents an increase of 17 students from the previous year.

RCPS Superintendent Dr. Terry Oatts said, "I am proud of the scholars recognized by the College Board and their teachers for their outstanding performance in Advanced Placement exams and in the advanced academics that are the precursor to such exams. This group represents an increase in each award category over last year.  In addition, RCPS had 7 AP courses where our students’ mean score and percentage of scores 3 or higher on the exam outperformed the state and global averages. The courses include AP Biology, AP Calculus B/C, AP Environmental Science, AP Seminar, AP Research, AP Spanish, and AP Statistics. Our students also displayed academic growth in our number of students scoring a 3, 4, or 5, increasing from 44% to 51%.  We celebrate their pursuit of excellence and will continue to focus on preparing students for academic achievement and success.” 

Each year, thousands of high school students across the world take AP exams. The College Board recognizes the hard work of top students through the awarding of several distinctions: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction, and the AP Capstone Diploma. 

Forty-four RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars. This distinction is given to students who receive a score of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. Four were Heritage High School students and 40 were Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology (RMSST)/Rockdale County High School (RCHS) students. 

Seventeen RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars with Honor, which is awarded to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and score a 3 or higher on four or more of those exams. All were RMSST/RCHS students.

Twenty-two RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars with Distinction, which is awarded to those students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams and score 3 or higher on five or more AP exams. All were RMSST/RCHS students.

Two RCPS students earned the prestigious AP Capstone diploma. Both were RMSST/RCHS students. The AP Capstone is a diploma program based on two yearlong AP courses: AP Seminar and AP Research. Instead of teaching specific subject knowledge, AP Seminar and AP Research use an interdisciplinary approach to develop the critical thinking, research, collaboration, time management, and presentation skills students need for college-level work. Students who earn scores of 3 or higher in AP Seminar and AP Research and on four additional AP Exams of their choosing receive the AP Capstone Diploma.
All of these students are to be commended for their hard work and dedication to their education. Being recognized as an AP Scholar is an honor, and RCPS congratulates the following students:

AP Capstone Diploma
MyTien Huynh
Margaret Hwang

AP Scholar with Distinction
Daniela Aguilar
Daniel Arias
Abigail Buchanan
Helena Chapar
Laura Goldgar
MyTien Huynh
Margaret Hwang
JR Insular
Duc Le
Kayla Lewis
Jackson Meyers
Alan Nguyen
Stewart Oser
Hayaa Patel
Isabella Powell
Mariana Rios
Amani Roberson
Robert South
Ryan Wood
Zak Yassin
Alexander Zakirov
Maxwell Zhang

AP Scholar with Honor
Hector Aguirre
Douglas Bone
Samuel Clark
Grayson Cornelius
Nicholas DeSpain
Clark Fulgham
Trenton Fulgham
Jose Funes
Guinevere Grant
Camille Hall
Trinity James
Jeriko Kammerer
Hannah Sanders
Destiny Sarter
Logan Sprinkle
Kathryn Stoltz
Caden Taylor

AP Scholar
Sarah Abdulkhader
Saraiya Allen
Alexa Apiyo
Isaac Bare
Kennedey Boothe
Noah Buchanan
Jai’Ana Burditte
Dylan Burkey
Skye Chandler
Skylar Chandler
Henry Chau
Biana Christie
Gabrielle Daley
Christian Davis
Olivia DeFrancesco
Madisyn Dennis
Simon DePina
Junay Gamory
Morgan Gill
Angel Gomez
Jerry Gonzalez
Sydnee Hairston
Jaycee Herth
Saidah Hoyte
Patricia Ilic
Madison Jackson
DeAndre Johnney
Grace Kirkland
Eric Montgomery
Sydney Moodie
Camila Moreno
William Moss
Amelia Page
Syerra Palmer
Kylie Pauls
Jasmyne Porter
Emilia Samuels
Allanah Stanton
Shelby Symons
Karen Tejada
Andrew Tyler
Cadyn Wells
Christian White
Laila Wood